France 2014, Travel
Comments 6

Tues, 10/28/2014 – Paris

One sentence: It has been an eventful 24-hrs. In summary, look below.

10/28/2014 - Paris

10/28/2014 – Paris

10/28/2014 - Paris

10/28/2014 – Paris

10/28/2014 - Paris

10/28/2014 – Paris

10/28/2014 - Paris

10/28/2014 – Paris

10/28/2014 - Paris

10/28/2014 – Paris

10/28/2014 - Paris

10/28/2014 – Paris

– While I was in line for security, after my flight from RDU-JFK, my father called and said he wasn’t flying with my mother and me tonight. I panicked! What had happened?! Apparently, he didn’t realize his passport expired two months ago until and hour before leaving for the airport.

– My mom was late to arriving to JFK so I waited outside security to at least give my father a hug and get settled with my mother. Twenty mins before the flight was boarding, my parents arrived and my mom didn’t check in or have a boarding pass. I’m freaking out! We run to the Icelandair desk and they work magic to get us on the flight. We give my dad a kiss, not knowing if we will see him in Paris, and rush through First class security and right on the plane.

– My mother and I sit next to a lovely man from Iceland who spoke to us about his culture and his children who have moved to the states. As a result, I watch the tourist videos on the plane TV. I am now obsessed with Iceland and can’t wait to visit it’s gorgeous landscapes and hot springs sometime soon.

– After an hour layover in Iceland, we make it to Paris at noon. My mother’s suitcase makes it perfectly, but mine doesn’t – remind you of Berlin!! (Berlin post) Of course, mine has everything in it that I need for everything. Let’s hope that it comes on tomorrow’s flight because I need it for my Norway trip on Thursday!!

– We make it to our Paris apartment in the 2eme arrondissement, walk up the 125 steps to the top level to find that the key doesn’t work. Thankfully, our neighbor comes to the rescue and calles our host. Someone will fix it in 2 hours.

– Great, so we hadn’t eaten since NYC at 9pm the previous day and precious time zone, so we went I search for food. We found a wonderful French cafė around the corner.

– With an hour to spare, we walked towards the Palais Garnier to admire it’s beautiful before heading back to drop off our bags. Only a a minute walk.

– We made it in the apartment now and I need things for the next 24 hours without my suitcase. Icelandair apparently give its passengers $150 per day your don’t have your luggage. At this point all the shops are closed, but thank goodness for H&M.

– My mother and I met a friend of mine Tori from Raleigh, who is doing a study abroad in Paris, at the apartment. The three of us found a lovely spot for dinner and rosė. It was great to catch up on her Parisienne life.

This entry was posted in: France 2014, Travel

by

I have moved from the East to West coast to dance with the Pacific Northwest Ballet. I grew up in Manhattan and was a former Soloist with Carolina Ballet. My goal with my blog is to bring zest into your life and mine.

6 Comments

  1. Ruth Gross says

    Why Norway? Are you going to the Ballet/Opera there? My good friend (and old student) John Fiore is now the conductor and artistic director there. In the meantime, hope you get your suitcase and can enjoy Paris.

    Like

  2. Rob Schantz says

    Hi Cecilia! A long and adventure-filled day to be sure. Sounds exciting, though. Hope the suitcase situation gets figured out. Things do have a way of working out — and I hope your Dad can join you and your mom! Is that Tori Hall in the picture at the cafe? (if so, it just proves the ballet world is small!). Bon voyage to Olso!

    Like

      • Rob Schantz says

        Bonjour Cecilia! I’m so glad to hear everything has worked out! I hope you have a great time in Oslo! Greetings to your Mom and Dad, too. Enjoy!

        Like

Please leave a comment.

