Dance
Comments 6

{The Four Temperaments} By George Balanchine

To start 2015, I present you with George Balanchine’s Four Temperaments – 4Ts.” First premiered in 1946, the ballet is still modern and chic.

Having trained at the School of American Ballet and watched countless New York City Ballet performances, 4Ts was an all time favorite. Its black & white simplicity is loaded with angularity and passion. Balanchine’s genius fuses classical steps with his modern American style of extended lines, thrusted hips and speedy footwork.

***

Kurt Seligmann's costumes {The Four Temperaments}

Kurt Seligmann’s costumes {The Four Temperaments}

Eise Reiman and Herbert Bliss in the Seligmann costumes

Eise Reiman and Herbert Bliss in the Seligmann costumes

Click here for Seligmann’s original costumes.

Click here for more history on 4Ts.

***

4Ts was inspired by the medieval belief that human begins were made up of four different humors that determined a person’s temperament.

MELANCHOLIC – gloomy & pensive

SANGUINIC – headstrong & passionate

PHLEGMATIC – unemotional & passive

CHOLERIC – tempered & angry

***

Cecilia Iliesiu in Balanchine's "The Four Temperaments." Denise Cerniglia, 2015.

Cecilia Iliesiu in Balanchine’s “The Four Temperaments.” Denise Cerniglia, 2015.

Cecilia Iliesiu in Balanchine's "The Four Temperaments." Cindy McEnery, 2015.

Carolina Ballet dancers in Balanchine’s “The Four Temperaments.” Cindy McEnery, 2015.

***

Being cast as the Choleric soloist, I was thrilled. I could embrace my height and channel my inner-fierceness. What I didn’t realize during the rehearsal process was that I would have to bottle all my energy during the over 2 hr performance to bust out of the canon for the finale. If I were a runner, this would be my sprint.

I have also had the incredible opportunity to share this role with my advanced students. Through them I have been able to find new intricacies to the character. I am honored to have them in the audience for our opening night.

***

Photographer & Fellow Blogger Denise Cerniglia’s post on 4Ts – View here.

6 Comments

  1. Pingback: Carolina Ballet – The Four Temperaments | Arts View NC

  2. Pingback: My 60-day Vegan Challenge. | Twirling Terpsichorean

  3. Pingback: The 2015 Perspective | Zest to Dream

  4. Pingback: A Year Ago Today | Zest to Dream

Please leave a comment.

