Dance, Food & Lifestyle
Comments 4

New Chapter in Seattle

In the past 4 years and 50 posts here on {Zest to Dream}, you have share my experiences in North Carolina as I began my journey as professional dancer. From the numerous premieres to the countless {Nutcrackers} to the classics {Sleeping Beauty} {R&J} {Giselle}, I have performed in close to 500 shows with the Carolina Ballet in six seasons.

First Friday. Photo by © Ashley Blue.

Photography by {Ashley Blue}.

Six years ago, I moved 500 miles to Raleigh, NC to join Carolina Ballet. The southern charm and lifestyle taught me to slow down, reevaluate and refocus my goals from the fast-paced New York City. I learned irreplaceable lessons on and off the stage, in addition to juggling my time as a part-time Ballet teacher and a part-time college student.

However, there is no substitute for the incredible opportunities I gained under the guidance of Artistic Director Ricky Weiss and Coaches Debbie Austin, Marin Boieru, Olga Kostritzky and Zali Raffael. I have been given strong building blocks and a unique artistic voice that has made me eager to learn more.

Photography by Jeremy Deihl. May 2013.

Photography by {Jeremy Deihl}.

Today, I embark on a new chapter as I move 2,800 miles to Seattle, WA to join the Pacific Northwest Ballet. (Pinch me!) I honestly thought that PNB was a company that was slightly beyond my reach and I still have a hard time believing this new life of mine is a reality. To now be part of an institution with remarkable leadership and incredibly talented dancers is an honor. I can only thank Peter Boal for trusting in me.

PNB’s {2015/16 Season} repertoire has an array of choreographers and ballets I’ve wanted to experience and I can’t wait to return to the studio and the stage.

Cecilia Iliesiu captured by {Lukas Guil}.

Captured by {Lukas Guil}.

I have learned that life has a way of working in magical ways. Last year, I would have never believed you that I would be moving to Seattle and bidding adieu to my life in Raleigh. As I take my knowledge from the last six years with me on my next adventure to the West coast, I look forward to what this chapter has in store for me.

4 Comments

  1. Sean DeZurik says

    I enjoyed your performances while in NC. All the best to you in Seattle. May you continue to grow as an artist in your journey. Remember, they too are lucky to have you. I used to live there and it is a great place.

    Like

Please leave a comment.

