Dance, Travel
Comment 1

PNB Takes over NYC.

I am thrilled to announce that I am the newest contributor to the PNB blog. I am combining my blog writing with an internship with PNB’s Market Department and I can’t wait to see what I will learn from the amazing team.

{View my first post.}

Photo by Lindsay Thomas.

Photo by Lindsay Thomas.

This week, I will be posting about PNB’s current tour to my hometown, New York City, where we will be performing at City Center. Although the company doesn’t have too much free time, I am packing in as many activities with my family and friends as I can.  It is so good to be home!


PNB is bringing two programs to NYC audiences.

1. An evening of George Balanchine‘s works. What I love about this program is the variety of Balanchine’s styles: from pure classical technique to a neoclassical leotard ballet to a story ballet.

  • Square Dance (premiered in 1957)
  • Stravinsky Violin Concerto (premiered in 1972)
  • Prodigal Son (premiered in 1929)

2. An evening of Contemporary works. This program showcases the athleticism and fierceness of the PNB dancers and innovative choreography from the last decade.

  • David Dawson’s A Million Kisses to my Skin (premiered in 2000)
  • William Forsythe’s The Vertiginous Thrill of Exactitude (premiered in 1996)
  • Crystal Pite’s Emergence (premiered in 2009)

Here are a few shoots from my first 2 days in the city.

Cecilia Iliesiu and Elizabeth Murphy at City Center.

Cecilia Iliesiu and Elizabeth Murphy at City Center.

James Moore, Elizabeth Murphy, Deborah Wingert and Cecilia Iliesiu at Alvin Ailey Studios.

James Moore, Elizabeth Murphy, Deborah Wingert and Cecilia Iliesiu at Alvin Ailey Studios.

James Moore and Elizabeth Murphy enjoying the view.

James Moore and Elizabeth Murphy enjoying the view.

Follow the PNB tour to City City on the Official {PNB Blog} where I will be guest writing.

1 Comment

  1. I am following you, ready to read your blog.Happy for you to be back in NY and your desire to write down your thoughts.. Wish you success, best dancing, best audience. Lucia

    Like

Please leave a comment.